Long-overdue update

There’s no doubt about it, the writing plans for 2010 have turned out to be – in a word – rubbish.

Strangely, I feel quite okay about that… even some relief at the pressure being lifted off my shoulders. The elbow injury dug in its metaphorical heels, resisting all conservative forms of treatment which left surgery as the only option. I’m still doing the best I can with voice recognition software, but it has to be said it’s just not the same. In fact, I was in the middle of commenting on a techie blog about the problems with it, when it crashed. (Um… perhaps it IS smarter than I gave it credit for?)

The good news is that I have officially given myself the rest of the year off. That is to say, no editing or revising of any of the various longer works-in-progress which clutter up my desktop; no submitting of any kind (unless they really, really beg…); and no writing (except for  handwritten poetry, if I really feel the need).

Although this initially felt like giving up, failure, reason to doubt the point of existence, I am at last emerging into a new relationship with the not-writing. It’s a holiday; a break; a trial separation to see if we are truly suited to each other. I hope for a reconciliation, but I do not hang my sense of self-worth on it.  And yes, we are allowed to see others during this time. I shall dig out sketching pad and pencils, and writing can do its own thing too.

In a couple of weeks, I will toddle along to Aussiecon 4 and meet up with the fabulous Orbiteers, the wonderful Kim Falconer and numerous other writers and editors whom it is my privilege to know as online friends. I plan to have the most fun ever, and the fact that I am not currently writing is not going to interfere with my partying plans.

Who knows, I might even get inspired to break my own rule and start on a new story.

;-)

4 responses to this post.

  1. And she updates!

    Glad to see you are taking the enforced break in your stride, but nothing more that I would expect of you, Miss Positive :) I hope this gives your elbow the break it needs to heal properly. Best wishes!

    Reply

  2. So sorry to hear about the injury :(

    It’s hard to take a break even when you know you need one – seems strange but it’s true, isn’t it. But it sounds like you’ve got a positive take on it, and that’s fantastic.

    Looking forward to seeing you in September.

    Reply

  3. Posted by j-a brocke on August 16, 2010 at 8:01 pm

    good idea to take a break. you probably need a good rest and could do without the pressure. you’ll come back to it fresh and better than ever!

    Reply

  4. Sometimes a vreak is just what you need! You’re sounding very positive about it, I hope it works out for you :-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 459 other followers

