CW – belated thoughts on goals

‘kay, so here’s the short version:

It’s now Friday night my time, and I have yet to finalise my WRITING goals but I’m applying to our lovely leader for a short extension on my homework, since I spent the last couple of days thinking I was going to have to pull out! I’m behind on the icebreaking but I’ll try and get round everyone even if it takes me a couple of weeks.

I’ve an injury which makes keyboarding AND handwriting both painful at the moment. I am determined I will yet again defy the odds, and plans are in place to gain recovery. Best of all, I’m getting close to being wildly optimistic again (yay!!).

Meanwhile, I’ve decided the overarching goal from this workshop will be training my brain to use voice recognition software to create fiction, something I’ve not yet tackled. I use it very well for dictating emails and letters, and for inputting creative writing which I’ve already handwritten. But that leap into simply speaking fiction into a microphone? That’s new.

It’s late Friday my time, so I’ll be back tomorrow with my writing goals. They’re still bubbling to the surface but I can kinda make them out through the mud. Wonder what they’ll look like?

10 responses to this post.

  1. I used Dragon Naturally Speaking for a long time when my back was very bad. It’s not the same as by hand, but it’s not impossible either. Once I got into the swing of it, I found the words flowed just fine. Give it a try! You do need a good mic and a very good soundcard though, otherwise it’s just an exercise in frustration.

    Reply

    • Posted by janettedalgliesh on May 7, 2010 at 10:53 pm

      I use Dragon at work and I love it, but at home I have a Mac so I use MacSpeech Dictate which isn’t quite as good. Happily I have good mic and soundcard, which does help!

      This is more about building that connection between the muse, the voice and the story that wants to be told. It’s a brain thingy :-)

      Reply

  2. I would have loved a program like that a couple years ago when I broke a bone in my dominant hand. I think I know what you mean by “brain thingy.” I’ve tried dictating bits on my iPhone, but even though I have a line perfect in my head, as soon as I open my mouth I blow it. Good thing I never had aspirations to act. :-)

    Reply

    • Posted by janettedalgliesh on May 7, 2010 at 11:12 pm

      Yup, you got it, Linda. That’s the bit I find challenging.

      Um…. USED to find challenging!!!! See how I’m planning to change all that? ;-)

      Reply

  3. Posted by j-a brock on May 7, 2010 at 11:20 pm

    know what you mean about that whole ‘thinking aloud’ thing. i haven’t got there with my fiction writing yet, but i know that emails etc have improved and i’m a lot faster. i still handwrite, but want to give it a go one day.
    good luck with it! i hope it goes well.

    Reply

    • Posted by janettedalgliesh on May 7, 2010 at 11:43 pm

      Thanks J-A!!! Yes, this is another big step forward and I’m beginning to get excited rather than terrified about it. Tomorrow is about finalising the writing goals so I’m all lined up to get stuck in next week. Fun stuff!

      Reply

  4. Good luck with this! I contemplated trying this out last pregnancy when my carpal tunnel got really bad – am thankful it hasn’t cropped back up again this time around. Besides, talking my stories in with two beautifully babbling children? Gosh, I’d be worried what might show up in my document!
    Hey, there might be a story in that…

    Reply

    • Posted by janettedalgliesh on May 8, 2010 at 12:14 pm

      Oh yes, I’ve had some really weird stuff recorded when someone’s walked into my office mid-dictation and I haven’t been able to mute the microphone in time, LOL!!!

      Reply

  5. Good luck with it – I’d be interested to hear how it goes. I’m permanently unable to handwrite, and I’ve contemplated learning in case I get RSI again – though fortunately that seems to have been a short term thing caused by a particularly bad office setup *bitter*.

    Reply

    • Posted by janettedalgliesh on May 9, 2010 at 8:16 am

      So glad to hear your RSI went away!!! It often does, I believe. Mine is a stubborn lil’ thing – and clearly I’m not listening to whatever message it’s trying to tell me. I do like the voice recognition software, but it’s like everything – it’s much easier to keep doing things the old way than make the effort to learn a new way, until that balance shifts and learning the new thing becomes easier (or the only option). Having said that, when I first got it in my office, my boss was so impressed with the concept that he went straight out and bought it, and now uses it himself!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 458 other followers

